Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Other Open-Access Resources
- Homeland Security Digital Library
Search over 73,000 resources in the HSDL’s public collection. Recommended by faculty as *the* place to start.
- Homeland Security Affairs
The Journal of the Naval postgraduate school Center for Homeland Defense and Security. This site is recommended by faculty.
- Congressional Research Service Reports for the People
Open CRS is a collection of reports from the Congressional Research Service in the public doman including several items relevant to Homeland Security.
- Council on Foreign Relations: Terrorism
The CFR's website includes a section devoted to terrorism and related topics. Resources include news, in-depth research, and government documents.
- Council on Foreign Relations: Homeland Security
The website of the CFR includes a section devoted to defense and homeland security. It provides all types of documents on topics such as 9/11, the arms trade, border security, wars, and many others.
- Federation of American Scientists
The FAS webpage includes information on scientific topics that pertain to homeland security such as biological weapons, information security, and terrorism.
- Foreign Policy Research Institute: Center for the Study of Terrorism
The FPRI's Center for the Study of Terrorism contains information and educational materials on all related topics as well as defense strategies for homeland security.
- Global Security
This site provides a thorough database with news, documents and videos relating to homeland security, intelligence, WMD and the military.
- Homeland Security Studies & Analysis Institute
This site provides information to evaluate homeland security systems/technologies and includes articles, publications, reviews and commentaries relating to homeland security.
- Intelligence Resource Program (Federation of American Scientists)
An FAS-affiliated website offering a directory of links to security agencies all over the world.
- International Institute for Counter-Terrorism
ICT is a counter-terrorism research organization based in Israel that offers news articles, opinion articles, research reports, and links to other sources.
- Middle East Media Research Institute
The website of an organization devoted to the study of media in the Middle East including analysis of political, ideological, intellectual, social, cultural, and religious trends.
- Nuclear Threat Initiative
The NTI website features articles and reference materials on nuclear, biological, and chemical weapons.
Open-Access Journals on Terrorism and Homeland Security