Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Articles - what are they?
- An article is a written piece from a publication such as a journal, magazine or newspaper.
- Faculty expect edited pieces from a valid publisher; information on the web from companies or individuals and wikipedia are usually unacceptable
- Faculty may require articles of a particular type, i.e. newspaper, popular magazine, or scholarly journal.
- Access to articles is provided through licensed databases on the library website. These databases collect articles from many publications.
- Some of the most useful of these databases for your discipline are listed to the right. Others are found in our A-Z database list.
Browse for periodicals
Browse online journals HERE
Searching for articles
Search individual databases. Most relevant for this subject are:
Criminal Justice Abstracts witih Full Text
Covers areas related to criminal justice and criminology. Over 300,000 journal sources from around the world, with full text coverage of more than 200.
Criminal Justice Collection
Whether studying to become a lawyer or law enforcement officer, paralegal, or for a career in Homeland Security, this collection rises to the challenge.
Homeland Security Digital Library
The nation's premier collection of homeland security policey and strategy-related documents.
Full-text of approximately 250 journals, generally covering the years up to 2000. Also focuses on law, business and education.
Military & Government Collection
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Offers full text coverage for over 560 journals
Security Management Practices
Professional reports relating to IT & organizational security, risk management, business planning, emergency and disaster management.
SocINDEX with Full-Text
The world's most comprehensive sociology research database, with extensive coverage of scholarly journals.
Social Sciences Full Text
This full-text resource provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language social science journals.
WestlawNext Campus Research
Comprehensive resource for legal research, business information, and news.
Other related databases
Academic Search Complete
Over 7,000 full text periodicals. Also contains indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 publications.
Articles - How to Search for Them
1. Try a title or keyword search on your topic.
2. Look for useful "subject" or "descriptor" words. These will either be in a list on the results page, or you may need to look at a number of individual records.
3. Go back to the search screen and search BY SUBJECT/DESCRIPTOR (not by title/keyword) using the words you discovered in step 2.
4. Be sure to take advantage of:
- Boolean connectors (AND, OR, NOT)
- Truncation/Wildcard (educat*)
- Phrase searching ("childhood obesity")
5. When you find an item you want, use ArticleLinker to get it.
Online Subscription Journals on Homeland Security
Check out specific online subscription periodical titles on Homeland Security:
At Issue: Homeland Security
Borders Matter: Homeland Security & the Search for North America
CQ Homeland Security
Current Controversies: Homeland Security
Department of Homeland Security
Homeland Security Review
Online Subscription Journals on Terrorism
Check out specific online subscription periodical titles on Terrorism:
At Issue: Are Efforts to Reduce Terrorism Successful?
At Issue: Is Military Action Justified Against Nations Thought to Support Terrorism?
Critical Studies on Terrorism
Current Controversies: America's Battle Against Terrorism
Opposing Viewpoints: Terrorism
Studies in Conflict and Terrorism