Homeland Security and Terrorism: Crime and Justice Statistics

Bureau of Justice Statistics - National Criminal Victimization Survey 

JRSA's Incident-Based Reporting Resource Center

Federal Bureau of Investigation - Uniform Crime Reporting

Federal Bureau of Investigation - National Incident-Based Reporting System

Terrorism and Preparedness Data Resource Center
"The Terrorism & Preparedness Data Resource Center (TPDRC) is housed at the University of Michigan's Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR). TPDRC archives and distributes data collected by government agencies, non-governmental organizations (NGOs), and researchers about the nature of intra- (domestic) and international terrorism incidents, organizations, perpetrators, and victims; governmental and nongovernmental responses to terror, including primary, secondary, and tertiary interventions; and citizen's attitudes towards terrorism, terror incidents, and the response to terror."

• Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
  This electronic book brings together data from more than 100 sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States.  These data are displayed in over 1,000 tables.  The site is updated regularly as new statistics become available.  The Sourcebook is supported by the U.S. Department of Justice, Bureau of Justice Statistics.  Data tables are organized into six topical sections:  Criminal justice characteristics; public opinion; crime and victims; arrests and seizures; courts; prosecution and sentencing; parole; jails, prisons and death penalty.

• Statistical Abstract of the United States ( - 2012) Law Enforcement, Courts & Prison. 
  This chapter includes tables on arrests, correctional facilities and prisoners, courts, crime and crime rates, criminal justice expenditures, criminal victimizations, fire losses, juvenile deliquency and child abuse.  Be sure to click the first link on the page to view the entire section; this will include the introduction with a short essay that provides an overview of how crime statistics are collected and reported.

• Justice Research and Statistics Association - Statistical Analysis Centers    
  Statistical Analysis Centers are units or agencies at the state government level that use information from all components of the criminal justice system to conduct objective analyses of statewide policy issues.

• Infobase of State Activities and Research
  ISAR contains information on Statistical Analysis Center (SAC) research and activities, and is designed to inform criminal justice researchers, practitioners, and policymakers by summarizing these activities, which are undertaken by the SACs on a broad range of justice issues.

•  New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services Criminal Justice Statistics                                                                         
  New York State reports and statics on crime, separated into sections on Crime and Victimization; Arrests; Dispositions; Juvenile Jutstice, Other, and Monthly/Quarterly Reports.

   

• Bureau of the Census
• Bureau of Labor Statistics
• FedStats
• Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
• National Center for Education Statistics
• National Center for Health Statistics
• National Criminal Justice Reference Service

National Counterterrorism Center
"The National Counterterrorism Center (NCTC) was established by Presidential Executive Order 13354 in August 2004, and codified by the Intelligence Reform and Terrorism Prevention Act of 2004 (IRTPA). NCTC implements a key recommendation of the 9/11 Commission: 'Breaking the older mold of national government organizations, this NCTC should be a center for joint operational planning and joint intelligence, staffed by personnel from the various agencies.'"

National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism (START)
"The National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism (START) is a U.S. Department of Homeland Security Center of Excellence, tasked by the Department of Homeland Security's Science and Technology Directorate with using state-of-the-art theories, methods, and data from the social and behavioral sciences to improve understanding of the origins, dynamics, and social and psychological impacts of terrorism."

Global Terrorism Database
The Global Terrorism Database (GTD) is an open-source database including information on terrorist events around the world from 1970 through 2007 (with annual updates planned for the future).

Terrorist Organizational Profiles
The Terrorist Organization Profiles (TOPs) data collection provides background information on more than 850 organizations that have been known to engage in terrorist activity around the world during the last four decades.

Data
Complete list of data programs available through START.

U.S. Natural Hazard Statistics -"The U.S. Natural Hazard Statistics provide statistical information on fatalities, injuries and damages caused by weather related hazards.

Office of Immigration Statistics -"The Office of Immigration Statistics (OIS), within the Management Directorate of the Department of Homeland Security (DHS), is responsible for developing, analyzing, and disseminating statistical information needed to assess the effects of immigration in the United States."

Wiretap Reports -"The Omnibus Crime Control and Safe Streets Act of 1968 requires the Administrative Office of the United States Courts (AO) to report to Congress the number and nature of federal and state applications for orders authorizing or approving the interception of wire, oral, or electronic communications.

National Counterterrorism Center Report -The "National Counterterrorism Center Reports" provide statistical analysis and incident summaries in conjunction with the "Country Reports on Terrorism" released by the U.S. Department of State.

Global Terrorism Database -"The Global Terrorism Database (GTD) is an open-source database including information on terrorist events around the world from 1970 through 2007 (with annual updates planned for the future

North American Border Crossing/Entry Data-"The Bureau of Transportation Statistics (BTS) Border Crossing/Entry Data provides summary statistics for incoming crossings at the U.S.-Canadian and the U.S.-Mexican border at the port level.