Finding Books on the Library ShelvesShow Me How
Policy on Use of Electronic ResourcesLibrary Privacy PolicyInterlibrary Loan PoliciesCirculation and Borrower Services PolicyReserves PolicyCollection Development PolicyAcquisition PolicyLibrary Instruction PoliciesBuilding Use and Behavioral Expectations
This is the "User Guide Home" page of the "Southworth Library Learning Commons Users' Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Southworth Library Learning Commons Users' Guide  

Last Updated: Feb 20, 2014 URL: http://researchguides.canton.edu/userguide Print Guide Email Alerts

User Guide Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction


Southworth Library Learning Commons User's Guide

This guide has been produced to provide you with an overview of the services, facilities and resources available. Read the entire guide or select a link to the left. If you have any questions about the Library Learning Commons or its services, please use the links in the sidebar to contact a member of the staff.

General Information

Southworth Library Learning Commons is situated in the middle of the campus. The main floor houses the Circulation Desk, reserve materials, first-floor reference (research) desk, microfilm reader/printer, offices, the circulating DVD collection, a photocopy machine, computer workstations, the Cyber Cafe, Help Desk, all of the Tutoring labs, the library instruction classroom and restrooms. The second floor houses the general and reference collections, oversized and juvenile collections, second-floor reference (research) desk, current issues of periodicals and newspapers, group study areas, a photocopy machine, computer stations, scanners, Google Television units, the Connections Room, and a variety of furniture designed for individual or quiet study, as well as comfortable furniture stations for extended use. The lower level, or basement area, contains bound and back-issue periodicals, microfilm, Interlibrary Loan work area, Library Technical Services area and Information Services personnel.

Contents


Library Learning Commons Hours

Regular Semester:

Monday-Thursday           7:30 a.m.-2:00 a.m.                                                  
Friday 7:30 a.m.-8:00 p.m.
Saturday 8:00 a.m.-midnight
Sunday 8:00 a.m.-2:00 a.m.

Summer and Recess:

Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Closed Weekends and Holidays

ANY CHANGES IN THE LIBRARY HOURS ARE POSTED AT THE LIBRARY ENTRANCE

**Please note:  Not all building services are available during all open hours.  Please check with the respective department within the Library Learning Commons for posted schedules and hours of availability.

Contents

 


Reference (Research) Service

Librarians provide assistance in helping users to find material in the Library as well as locating information in reference books and other print and electronic sources. The Reference/Research Desks are covered by a librarian from 2 p.m. to 10 p.m. on Sundays, 9 a.m to 10 p.m. Monday through Thursday, and 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. on Fridays. 

Reference service is also available for remote users, when the building is closed, or when a librarian is not available at one of the designated Research Desks. Use the Ask Us 24/7 or LibChat chat platforms to connect with a librarian 24 hours a day, ask a question via e-mail at library@canton.edu, text message at (315) 254-2770, or submit an asynchronous question via LibAnswers and a librarian will answer your query the next time someone logs in to the system. 

Contents


Available Technology

Computer workstations in the Library Learning Commons are available to all members of the campus community to do library research and other academic work. Web browsers, academic software including Microsoft Office products, and access to other electronic resources, including the SLEUTH library catalog and the available research databases, is available at these workstations.  Work stations are located on all three floors of the building.  In addition, laptops can be borrowed from the Information Services Help Desk during their open hours, or from the Library Circulation Desk during the evenings or on weekends when Help Desk is closed.  The Library Circulation Desk also loans iPads, Kindles, chargers for laptops and certain Apple devices, headphones, scientific calculators, a digital camera, laser keyboard or wireless keyboard, wireless mouse, and more.  The building is wi-fi enabled, and campus-owned devices will connect to the wi-fi network automatically.  Individually owned wirless devices should be configured to access the wirless network at the Help Desk.

Contents


Library Home Page

The Library Home Page can be reached through the College web page at www.canton.edu. It provides access to various services and resources available at the Southworth Library, as well as links to various other libraries and databases, and Internet resources.

The Library Home Page also provides off-campus access to Library resources and services. Select the database you wish to use, and then follow the directions for log-in.

Library Home Page

Contents


Video Cassette/DVD User Facilities

Video cassette/DVD players are provided for use with the Library video collections. The College is not responsible for damage to any unauthorized material used in library-owned machines. Video-viewing equipment is located in Rooms 226 and 227.

Contents


Group Study Rooms

Several rooms are available on the second floor for groups of 2 to 6 persons for limited time periods, for the purpose of study or group work requiring discussions among the group. These rooms are available on a first-come, first-served basis and cannot be reserved. Discussion should not be loud enough to be heard outside the room.  Please note that rooms cannot be "held" by leaving personal belongings inside rooms for unspecified or extended time periods.  Staff will remove such abandoned items and place them in the Lost and Found to prioritize access to and utilization of the in-demand space.  Additionally, these rooms are prioritized for groups; individuals occupying the spaces may be asked to relocate to alternate areas in the Library Learning Commons designated for individual study. 

Contents


Course Videos

A closed-stack collection of course-related videocassettes is located in remote storage. This collection is accessible through SLEUTH. Students are able to use the physical VHS video collection inside the Library utilizing media players in Rooms 226 and 227.

Contents


 

Director of Southworth Library Learning Commons

Profile Image
Michelle Currier / Director Southworth Library Learning Commons
Contact Info
SL109
x7228
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Tina Demo

Ask Me A Question

Profile Image
Mike Magilligan

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Jess Spooner

Contact Info

Profile Image
Cori Wilhelm
Contact Info
315-386-7228
Send Email

Ask Me A Question

Profile Image
Rachel Santose
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip