Skip to main content

Southworth Library Learning Commons Faculty Services: Adding Library Resources to Blackboard

A comprehensive guide to the library services and supports available to Faculty at SUNY Canton!

Linking to Articles in Library Databases

Simply follow the three steps to link journal articles in the library's full-text databases directly into your website, Powerpoint presentation, email, or Blackboard.

  • Find the persistent URL (see screenshot examaples of databases such as EBSCOhost databases, Historical New York Times, Literature Resource Center, Gale Virtual Reference Library, and Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context )
  • Check for the Off-Campus Access Prefix http://libproxy.canton.edu/login?url=
  • Test your link! 

1. Find the persistent URL

To point your students directly to an article in database, you CANNOT simply copy and paste the URL from your browser while you are viewing an article. This URL is rarely stable. You should always look for the persistent URLs (a.k.a. stable URLs, permanent URLS, or durable URLs) provided by the database.  Listed below are directions for linking articles from major databases.

  • EBSCOhost databases: Click the article title and look for “Permalink” on the right of your screen.
     
  • Historical New York Times (ProQuest): Click "Citation/Abstract" below the article title, and then look for “Document URL” under Indexing

     
  • Literature Resource Center & Gale Virtual Reference Library: Click the article title and look for “Bookmark this Document”  below the title. (Off-campus prefix needed. See step #2 below.) 

    Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context: Click the article title and look for "Bookmark" under "Tools" on the right of the page. (Off-campus prefix needed. See step #2 below.)

2. Check for the Off-Campus Access Prefix ( http://libproxy.canton.edu/login?url=)

Many databases, such as EBSCOhost, automatically add the proxy prefix (http://libproxy.canton.edu/login?url=) in their persistent URLs.  If you do not see the proxy information, you need to manually add it.

3. Always test your link before making it available to students!

Linking to Ebooks

Linking to Ebooks

You can link an ebook in Ebrary directly into your website, Powerpoint presentation, email, or Blackboard.

Linking to an entire book

  • Simply copy and paste the URL from your browser while you are viewing the ebook. (This is different from linking to an article in a database - see the right side of this page for information on database links.)
  • Example

 


Linking to a chapter or a page of an ebook (*Please note that the URL in your browsing window does not change as you read through the book, e.g. if you are reading on page 14 of a text and want a link to that page, you cannot simply copy the URL you see as you read. If you want a link to a page or chapter, you must follow the below steps.)

  • Highlight the chapter title or other texts of interest on a page. You must click on at least something on the page to get the correct URL.
  • Click InfoTools button on the upper left corner of the screen
  • Select Copy
  • A small window will pop up containing the texts highlighted, citation and URL
  • Be sure to test your link in a new browser
  • Example  
  •