SUNY OER Services: https://oer.suny.edu/
**If you would like to publish your entire course(s) or individual content items or your syllabus or learning modules on the SUNY OER Repository, sharing with your colleagues at SUNY community, please contact your friendly SUNY Canton librarians!
Resources for open and sustainable teaching and learning materials - Anthropology - Cal Poly Humboldt
https://libguides.humboldt.edu/openedu/anth
Biological Anthropology - "The first peer-reviewed open access textbook for biological anthropology courses. This book includes teaching resources and activity and lab manual.
OER Commons: Anthropology - Free textbook and resources for teaching cultural anthropology.
OER Anthropology resources from Hunter College Libraries.
OER: Anthropology textbooks, courses, and additional resources from Los Angeles Valley College Library
OER: Anthropology - this guide is provided by the University of New Hampshire Library - contains open access Anthropology journals, resources, etc.
OER Anthropology - this guide contains open textbooks, course and related materials, images, videos, and audio, etc.
OER Anthropology - The University of Adelaide - this site contains open access textbooks, supplementary resources, and courses.
Anthropology Resources on the Internet - "This resource area is meant to be used as a tool for finding information on anthropology that is available on the web."
Open Anthropology: A Public Journal of the American Anthropological Association
Resources for open and sustainable teaching and learning materials - Art - Cal Poly Humboldt.
https://libguides.humboldt.edu/openedu/art
OER: ART textbooks and course materials - from Los Angele Valley College Library
OER Commons: Art History - An introductory course using visual materials with emphasis on methods and motivations that generate the visual experience, both past and present.
OER Commons: Art Appreciation - This course explores the world's visual arts, focusing on the development of visual awareness, assessment, and appreciation.
OER Commons: Arts Collection Resources - this course is an exploration of visual art forms and their cultural connections.
OER Commons: Art & Design - projects related to art, painting, photography, interior design, graphic design, maker crafts.
OER Commons: Arts Integration - it is an approach to teaching in which students construct and demonstrate understanding through art form.
History of Modern Art course from CUNY Academic Commons
AP Art History - Khan Academy
Art History - Khan Academy
Art History course - Saylor.org
Art Journal Open - College Art Association
21-Inquiries into Art, History, and the Visual - open access journal
Different Visions - An open access journal devoted to progressive scholarship on medieval art.
The British Museum Collection - images, collections, etc.
Metropolitan Museum of Art: Open Access Collection - images, collections, etc.
National Gallery of Art Educational resources - Over 20 modules.
Smarthistory: The Center for Public Art History - collections, timeline, courses, etc.
Smithsonian Open Access - images, collections, etc.
Resources for open and sustainable teaching and learning materials - Biology - Cal Poly Humboldt.
https://libguides.humboldt.edu/openedu/biol
StudySmarter: textbook solutions in biology - https://www.studysmarter.us/textbooks/biology/
Biology OER - This site is a sponsored by the Ursula Schwerin Library to select and curate resources for use in General Biology I course.
OER: Biology - this comprehensive course materials site is created by Washtenaw Community College.
OER Commons: Biology I Test Bank Questions - "The questions span the following content areas: Introduction to Biology, Chemistry, Biological Molecules, cells, membrane transport, etc.
Faculty Guide for OER: Biology - Cossatot Community College - contains course related materials, additional web resources, etc.
Introduction to OER for Biology - This space is intended to provide faculty in the discipline with a collection of resources that have been subject to a peer-review process and/or that have been selected for use by faculty in the California community college.
OER Biology - Union College Libraries - this guide provides links to course, textbooks, and online resources that may be used as is or modified to suit a custom Biology course.
OER Biology - Montana State University - open access textbooks and supplemental resources.
OER Biology Textbooks - University of Ottawa - a collection of open access textbooks in the field of Biological Sciences.
OER in Biology - University of Connecticut - This site provides access to OER in Biology from a variety of repositories and publishers.
OpenLab Biology Lab Manual - lab exercises.
Resources for open and sustainable teaching and learning materials - Chemistry - Cal Poly Humboldt.
https://libguides.humboldt.edu/openedu/chem
StudySmarter: Chemistry - https://www.studysmarter.us/explanations/chemistry/
StudySmarter: textbook solutions in Chemistry - https://www.studysmarter.us/textbooks/chemistry/
OER: Chemistry - this comprehensive site is provided by Washtensaw Community College - contains free textbooks, TED talks, course materials, etc.
OER: Chemistry - provides a full curriculum of recorded lectures covering undergraduate chemistry plus selected graduate topics - Iowa State Univ.
OER: Commons: Chemistry - This introductory course is designed to prepare students for Chemistry I course.
OER: Chemistry - this site contains course materials and lab simulations - provided by Skyline College
OER Chemistry - University of Michigan
First Year General Chemistry free textbook.
Chemistry I Laboratory Manual: SUNY OER Services - This lab manual accompanies the college chemistry courses and is used to support and assess knowledge acquired in the classroom setting to be applied in the real world.
General Chemistry Lab I - University of Michigan - "this guide is to foster critical thinking that allow students to design, perform, and interpret experiments."
M.O.S.T. Commons: Foundations of Chemistry Lab Manual - this is a lab manual for an introductory chemistry course.
OER Chemistry - Montana State University - a collection of open access textbooks and supplemental resources.
OER Chemistry - University of Connecticut - this site provides open access to a variety of repositories and publishers.
OER Chemistry - The University of Adelaide - contains open access textbooks, supplementary resources, and courses.
Chemistry help videos - Pearson - "Learn the concepts covered in organic chemistry with step-by-step video.
Chemistry Steps: Organic Chemistry Quizzes - includes general chemistry overview quiz, molecular representations quiz, organic chemistry final practice quiz, etc.
Resources for open and sustainable teaching and learning materials - Communication - Cal Poly Humboldt.
https://libguides.humboldt.edu/c.php?g=303996&p=8260666
OER: Communication Studies - course materials and information from Los Angele Valley College Library
OER Communication Studies - learning and teaching materials from San Bernadino Valley College
OER Communication - University of Massachusetts Amherst - this page provides open educational materials in the field of communication including textbooks, videos, podcasts, primary source materials, syllabi, etc.
OER Commons: Communication Studies - open access textbooks and other related materials.
OER Communication Studies - Modesto Junior College - this guide provides a variety of open access repositories and course related materials.
OER Communication Studies - Texas State University - this site includes open access textbooks, data & statistics, videos, course materials, etc.
Resources for open and sustainable teaching and learning materials - Criminology and Justice Studies - Cal Poly Humboldt.
https://libguides.humboldt.edu/c.php?g=303996&p=2030652
Introduction to the American Criminal Justice System: "This text is for an introductory course and can further be useful as a supplementary resource as student continues to pursue their criminal justice/criminology education."
MERLOT: Criminal Justice - Searches 90,000+ records with the option to search other OER collections and the web.
OER Commons: Criminal Justice - Searches 50,000+ records of curated, high-quality OERs.
OER Commons: Criminology - "A source providing sociological perspectives on criminological study and theories."
OER: Administration of Justice - "The curated list provided here is intended to facilitate faculty selection of an OER in lieu of a commercial text."
Bureau of Justice Statistics - Information on crime, offenders, victims, and justice systems at all levels.
The Uniform Crime Reporting Program - Four annual publications on Hate Crime, Incident reporting, officer fatalities, etc.
Crime Scene Investigation Network - this site contains videos, crime scenes documents, collection, and preservation evidence, articles, forum, etc.
Forensic Science - Department of Justice
TED Talks: Crime - TED talks from experts on various topics.
University of Oxford Podcasts: Criminology - "This series is host to episodes created by the Centre for Criminology at the University of Oxford which is part of the Faculty of Law, within the Social Sciences Division."
University of Oxford Podcasts: Center for Socio-Legal Studies - Educational podcasts from the University of Oxford.
Health Literacy Resources: Cultural Diversity - University of Maryland: This guide provides links to resources on health literacy in the United States and guides for clear health communication.
OER Commons: Diversity and Cultural Competency: Define diversity and identify many aspects of diversity.
Health Policy Institute: Cultural Competency in Health Care - contains data profiles and federal standards and guidelines for providing culturally and linguistically appropriate care.
Frontiers in Public Health - Intercultural competency in public health
Cultural Competence in Healthcare Leadership Education - this paper explores the balance and interdependencies of cultural competence in healthcare leadership education development as knowledge.
Cultural Competency: Physician Assistant Studies Resource Guide - Noreen Reala Falcone Library - this guide introduces essential resources for PA studies students and faculty.
Cultural Competency and Health Equity Resources - this site provide resources for understanding patient's diverse values, beliefs, and behaviors, and customize treatment to meet their social, cultural, and linguistic needs.
CDC Cultural Competence in health and human services: https://npin.cdc.gov/pages/cultural-competence
The cross-cultural health care program: https://xculture.org/
DiversityRx - Resources for Cross Cultural Health Care: https://www.mhinnovation.net/organisations/diversityrx-%E2%80%93-resources-cross-cultural-health-care
Cultural Vision: https://www.crculturevision.com/
EthnoMed: Other Cultures: https://ethnomed.org/culture/other-cultures/
FDA Minority Health and Health Equity: https://www.fda.gov/consumers/consumer-information-audience/minority-health-and-health-equity
HRS: Culture, language, and health literacy: https://www.hrsa.gov/about/organization/bureaus/ohe/health-literacy/culture-language-and-health-literacy
Medline Plus: Population Groups: https://medlineplus.gov/populationgroups.html
National Center Cultural Competence - Georgetown University: : https://nccc.georgetown.edu/resources/title.php
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Office of Minority Health: Cultural and Linguistic Competency: https://www.minorityhealth.hhs.gov/omh/browse.aspx?lvl=1&lvlid=6
Resources for open and sustainable teaching and learning materials - Economics - Cal Poly Humboldt.
https://libguides.humboldt.edu/openedu/econ
StudySmaeter: Economics - https://www.studysmarter.us/explanations/economics/
StudySmarter: textbook solutions in Economics - https://www.studysmarter.us/textbooks/economics/
StudySmarter: Macroeconomics - https://www.studysmarter.us/explanations/macroeconomics/
OER Commons: Economic - this site contains economics textbooks and full courses collection resources.
Open access textbooks list: Economics - San Bernardino Valley College.
OER Economics and Finance - East Tennessee State University - this site contains course materials, open access textbooks and journals, images & videos, primary sources, etc.
OER Economics - Skyline College - this site includes textbooks for general economic, microeconomics, statistics, special topics, macroeconomics, international economics, supplementary modules, etc.
OER Economics - The University of Adelaide - contains lists of open access textbooks, supplementary resources, and courses.
Wolfram Demonstrations Project - Economics: https://demonstrations.wolfram.com/topic.html?topic=Economics&limit=20
Webinar: Improving Learning with OER for Economics - Lumen Learning
Webinar: Economic OER with Matt Clancy - Iowa OER
Open Engineering Textbooks:
ASEE Open Textbooks for Engineering Guide: American Society for Engineering's listing of open textbooks, organized by engineering discipline: General, Agricultural, Biomedical, Chemical, Civil, Electrical & Computer, Energy, Environmental, Manufacturing, Industrial & Systems, Materials Science, Mechanical, Petroleum & Mining & Geological Engineering.
Open Textbooks Library - Electrical Engineering: All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization.
OER Commons - Engineering: Includes all kinds of OER. Use the search limits to narrow by education level, material type (such as Textbooks) and subject.
Laboratory Manual for Engineering Electronic Textbook
Engineering Technology: Simulations for Learning
National STEM Consortium Mechatronics Courses
Resources for open and sustainable teaching and learning materials - English - Cal Poly Humboldt.
https://libguides.humboldt.edu/openedu/engl
StudySmarter: English - https://www.studysmarter.us/explanations/economics/
StudySmarter: English Literature - https://www.studysmarter.us/explanations/english-literature/
OER English Composition (SUNY) - This course focuses on the rhetorical content and strategies that are the baseline of effective college writing.
OER English - This site is provided by Moreno Valley College.
OER English & Writing - Montana State University - a collection of open access textbooks and supplemental resources and links.
OER English - University of Connecticut - this site provides access to a variety of repositories and publishers.
OER English & Writing - The University of Adelaide - contains open access textbooks, supplementary resources, and courses.
Resources for open and sustainable teaching and learning materials - Environmental Studies - Cal Poly Humboldt.
https://libguides.humboldt.edu/openedu/enst
StudySmarter: Environmental Science - https://www.studysmarter.us/explanations/economics/
OER Commons: Environmental Sciences - This lesson includes learning objectives, material and resource list, reading selections, etc.
Introduction to Environmental Science: 2nd Edition - an open textbook - provided by GALILEO.
Environmental Science Bites - an open textbook.
OER: Environmental Sciences - this site is provided by Washtensaw Community College - contains comprehensive teaching and learning materials.
Global Climate Change: Vital Signs of the Planet - NASA site on climate change.
Climate Education Hub - Higher Education Climate Resources (OER collection)
TED Talks - climate change
Resources for open and sustainable teaching and learning materials - History - Cal Poly Humboldt.
https://libguides.humboldt.edu/openedu/hist
StudySmarter: History - https://www.studysmarter.us/explanations/history/
OER: History course materials and additional resources from Los Angeles Valley College Library
OER Commons: History collection
OER Commons: US & World History textbooks and courses
OER History - CUNY - this page provides courses in American and European history.
OER History - University of Houston - "On this page, you will find several open History textbooks along with supplemental materials."
OER: History teaching and learning materials from Alvernia University
OER course:
BNC OER: Homeland Security course.
Homeland Security Intelligence - It is a collection of open readings on intelligence for homland security course 476 at Penn State University World campus.
Lumen Learning: Domestic Security
OER COmmons: Homeland Security
PER Commons: Cybersecurity
Related open FREE textbooks:
Computer Systems Security: Planning for Success - Open Textbopk Library
OASIS Homeland Security FREE books
Homeland Security Intelligence - This book is a collection of open readings on Intelligence for Homeland Security 476 at Penn State University World Campus.
Recommended Databases:
The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation's premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and as well as resources from universities, organizations, and local & state agencies.
JSTOR - Full-text of approximately 250 journals. It focuses on law, business and education.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with full-text - Covers areas related to criinal justice and criminology. Over 300,000 journal sources from around the world.
EBSCOhost databases - Full-text of periodicals on a wide range of topics.
Websites:
Defense Technical Information Center - Largest central resources for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information. This site includes technical reports from government agencies on terrorism, homeland security and other topics.
U.S. Department of Homeland Security - Links to reports, news and homeland security policies.
U.S. Department of Defense - News and issues regarding national defense
Homeland Security Affairs - The Journal of the NPS Center for Homeland Defense and Security
Law Enforcement Resources: Homeland Security - Department of Homeland Security.
The National Security Strategy of the United States of America - National Archives
The Global War on Terorrism: The First 100 Days - Department of State
Lumen Technologies - Insoder's view of Homeland security's threat intelligence
War on terrorism: United States history - Britannica
War and terrorism - Council of Europe
Other related OER Collections:
Ethics in Law Enforcement - Full textbook and course materials
Law, Liberty and the Pursuit of Terrorism - FREE textbooks
Journal of Terrorism Research - The aim of this Journal is to provide a space for students, academics and professiona;s topublish work focused on the study of international relations.
Journal of Strategy Security - It is a double-blind peer-reviewed professional journal.
Resources for open sustainable teaching and learning materials - Mathematics.
https://libguides.humboldt.edu/openedu/math
StudySmarter: Math - https://www.studysmarter.us/explanations/history/
StudySmarter: textbook siolutions in Math - https://www.studysmarter.us/textbooks/math/
OER Commons: Mathematics - open access textbooks
OER Mathematics - Le Moyne College - contains open access textbooks, courses, and videos.
OER Mathematics - Iowa State University - contains courses, open access textbooks for Algebra, Calculus, additional resources, etc.
OER for College Mathematics - Fox Valley Technical College
OER Mathematics & Statistics - University of Montana - open access textbooks, and additional resources.
Khan Academy - College Algebra/Math - Free textbooks, learning courses, skill common supplementary resources, etc.
Webinar: OER in Mathematics - Ohio Higher Education
University of Oxford Podcasts: The Secrets of Mathematics - "A series of talks and lectures from Oxford Mathematicians exploring the power and beauty of their subject."
Open RN Project is funded by the Department of Education to creat five OER Nursing textbooks with 25 associated Virtual reality scenarios.
BCcampus OER Nursing - Open Textbooks adapted and created by BC faculty.
OER for Nursing Education - GW School of Nursing OER resources.
Open Michigan: Nursing - University of Michigan, School of Nursing.
MERLOT Nursing - Assignments, assessment tools, case studies, courses.
MERLOT Health Sciences Portal - This site includes over 40 different subjects including nursing, nutrition, and radiology.
Nursing Open - Free information for nursing inclduing activities, audio, video, free courses, and community.
NCBI Bookshelf: Nursing - FREE online access to books on nursing.
LibreTexts: Nursing - Nursing bookshelf.
Pressbooks - Five OER for nursing students.
UVIC School of Nursing Publications Depository - this site inlcudes all publications from the School of Nursing.
IntechOpen - Health sciences books.
Nursing Skills Demonstration Videos - These skills demonstration videos were created by a nursing instructor as a free student resource.
OASIS: Nursing - Nursing resources found using OASIS.
Additional Resources:
Resources for open and sustainable teaching and learning materials - Psychology - Cal Poly Humboldt.
https://libguides.humboldt.edu/openedu/psyc
StudySmarter: Psychology - https://www.studysmarter.us/explanations/psychology/
Boundless Psychology: https://www.coursehero.com/study-guides/boundless-psychology/
Answering Questions with Data: This is a free textbook teaching introductory statistics for undergraduate in Psychology.
OER Psychology teaching and learning materials from Los Angeles Valley College Library.
OER: Psychology - Skyline College - contains free textbooks, course materials and additional resources.
OER Psychology - The University of Adelaide - this site contains open access textbooks, supplementary resources, courses, and podcasts.
NIMH Publications: https://www.nimh.nih.gov/health/publications
UC Berkeley Webcasts - Psychology: Archive of video and audio lectures from courses on general psychology, developmental psychology, social psychology, and research and data analysis.
The Psych File: Hosted by Michael A Britt in psychology from the State University of New York at Albany, this site offers podcasts and other resources of interest to students and faculty of psychology.
University of Oxford Podcasts: Experimental Psychology - Mental Wellness is a seminar series organized by the University of Oxford, Experimental Psychology Department."
Resources for open and sustainable teaching and learning materials - Sociology - Cal Poly Humboldt.
https://libguides.humboldt.edu/openedu/soc
StudySmarter - Sociology -
OER for Sociology - University of Houston - this site contains open access textbooks and supplemental materials.
OER Commons: Sociology - https://www.studysmarter.us/explanations/social-studies/
OER Sociology - Washtenaw Community College - this site contains open access textbooks, videos & images, worksheets & exercises, etc.
OER Sociology - Los Angeles Valley College Library - this page contains open access textbooks, course materials, and additional resources.
OER Sociology - Messiah University - this site "provides a curated collection of Sociology textbooks and resources."
JSTOR open access journals - Sociology