Skip to main content

Open Educational Resources (OER)

Information about OERs and Southworth Library Learning Commons

OER Course Redesign

OER Course Redesign Incentive

The goal of this initiative is to reduce financial barriers for students, specifically textbook costs. 

This agreement pertains to the voluntary participation of faculty members in the adoption of Open Educational Resources (OER).   

By applying using the form below, the faculty member agrees:

  • To use OER for at least 51% of the materials in their course
  • To continue this structure for a period of three (3) years. 
  • In selecting course materials, the faculty member will select materials that will be at least 50% less than the cost of the previously used course materials (including textbooks, access codes, and any other required materials). 

Application Timelines:

Only completed applications will be considered for funding. â€‹Application deadlines are November 15, and April 15.  Payment of Course Redesign Incentives will be at the end of the academic year (after June 1).

Completed applications must be submitted to the OER Task Force Chair, currently: Cori Wilhelm, Southworth Library, SUNY Canton – wilhelmc@canton.edu

OER Professional Development Funds

OER Professional Development Funding

All faculty and professional staff employed at SUNY Canton interested in professional development related to OER are eligible to apply for OER Professional Development Funding.  Awards will be made to foster professional development opportunities for faculty and staff. Tuition costs are not eligible for OER Professional Development funding. This funding program seeks to:

  • Encourage innovation in current instruction/programs to adopt and utilize OER
  • Encourage development of new courses or programs utilizing OER
  • Encourage presentation of scholarly papers related to OER
  • Assist with attendance at seminars or short courses related to OER

Proposal Timelines:

Only completed proposals will be reviewed. â€‹Application deadlines are November 15, and March 15.  Notification of awards will be made approximately one month after application deadlines.

Completed applications must be submitted to the OER Task Force Chair, currently: Cori Wilhelm, Southworth Library, SUNY Canton – wilhelmc@canton.edu

Questions about OER?  Please contact an OER Task Force Member:

Cori Wilhelm, Library wilhelmc@canton.edu 
Michelle Currier, SH&CJ currierm@canton.edu 
Rajiv Narula, SH&CJ narular@canton.edu 
Fred Saburro, CSOET saburro@canton.edu
Alice Reed, CSOET reeda@canton.edu
Christina Lesyk, SBLA lesykc@canton.edu
Christina Martin, SBLA martinc@canton.edu
Megan Riedl, Accessibility Services riedlm@canton.edu 
Tonka Jokelova, Online Learning jokelova@canton.edu