Sports Management: Home

• Roo Search

  Click here to jump to the library homepage to search RooSearch -- our discovery service that simultaneously searches almost *all* of the library resources at once!

• WorldCat

  Searches thousands of libraries - and links to Interlibrary Loan.

Citing your sources: Guides and Reference

APA Citation Resources

• APA 7th General Reference
• APA 7th Edition
• Purdue Owl APA 7th General Format
• APA Style Reference Example

MLA Citation Resources

• Purdue Owl MLA
• Purdue Owl MLA Examples

• Academic OneFile - A multidisciplinary database with full-text articles, references from over 12,000 journal titles.
• Academic Search Complete - Over 7,000 full text periodicals. Also contains indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 publications.
• Business Source Complete - Indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included.
• EBSCO databases - Full-text of periodicals on a wide range of topics.
• Gale Virtual Reference Library - Takes research to the next level by delivering great reference print titles you rely on in a database format.
• General OneFile - Similar to Academic OneFile, covering more general interest magazines and newspapers.
• Google Scholar - Google Scholar is good for conducting simple searches across a broad number of databases. Within Google Scholar you may conduct searches by keyword, author and article title. There is also an advanced search with more options.
• JSTOR - Full-text of approximately 250 journals, generally covering the years up to 2000. Also focuses on law, business and education.
• RKMA Market Research Handbook Series - Richard K. Miller & Associates (RKMA) publishes 12 biennial reference handbooks that support MBA, marketing, hospitality management, and sports management curricula.
• ScienceDirect - Full-text of journal articles in science, technology and medicine.

• Equity in Athletics Data Analysis Cutting Tool - From the Office of Postsecondary Education of the U.S. Department of Education. Use this tool to create customized reports for research relating to equity in athletics data.
• ESPN - ESPN provides statistics for various sports.
• Fan Cost Index - Since 1991, Team Marketing Report has produced the annual Fan Cost Index® for teams of the four largest US sports leagues: Major League Baseball, National Football League, National Hockey League and National Basketball Association. The FCI measures the cost of a family of four to attend a game with a standard measurement of ticket costs added with typical food, drink and souvenir costs, as well as parking.
• IDEAS - Numerous scholarly articles on various aspects of sports economics including stadium financing.
• Interactive Analysis of Fan Cost Index
• Spotrac - Sports contracts, salaries, caps, bonuses, and transactions
• Sports Data Resources - From the Statistics in Sports Section of the American Statistical Association, a listing of online data resources and online sports statistics forums for several sports.
• Sports Illustrated Vault - 50+ years of Sports Illustrated content including video and images.
• Sports Law Research Website - From the National Sports Law Institute at Marquette University Law School.
• Sports Management - The Sport Journal
• Sports Reference - A group of sites providing both basic and sabermetric statistics and resources for sports fans everywhere.

• Amateur Athletic Union (AAU) - One of the largest, non-profit, volunteer, multi-sport event organizations in the world, the AAU is dedicated exclusively to the promotion and development of amateur sports and physical fitness programs. The AAU philosophy of “Sports For All, Forever” is now shared by nearly 700,000 members and 150,000 volunteers across 41 sports programs and 55 U.S. districts.
• NASPSPA; North American Society for the Psychology of Sport and Physical Activity
• National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) - The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) is a governing body of small athletics programs that are dedicated to character-driven intercollegiate athletics.
• National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) - The National Collegiate Athletic Association is a member-led organization dedicated to the well-being and lifelong success of college athletes.
• National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) - It is the mission of the NJCAA to foster a national program of athletic participation in an environment that supports equitable opportunities consistent with the educational objectives of member colleges.
• North American Society for Sport History - The purpose of the North American Society for Sport History (NASSH) is to promote, stimulate, and encourage the study of the history of sport; to support, stimulate and encourage scholarly writing and research related to the history of sport; and to cooperate with local, national, and international organizations having the same purpose.
• North American Society for Sport Management - NASSM is actively involved in supporting and assisting professionals working in the fields of sport, leisure and recreation. The purpose of the North American Society for Sport Management is to promote, stimulate, and encourage study, research, scholarly writing, and professional development in the area of sport management - both theoretical and applied aspects.
• Society of Health and Physical Educators (SHAPE)
• Sports Marketing Association
• United States Olympic Committee (USOC) Official site - The USOPC is focused on protecting, supporting and empowering America’s athletes, and is responsible for fielding U.S. teams for the Olympic, Paralympic, Youth Olympic, Pan American and Parapan American Games, and serving as the steward of the Olympic and Paralympic movements in the U.S.

• Entertainment and Sports Occupations - Bureau of Labor Statistics
• SUNY Canton Sports Management, B.B.A.