Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PHTA 100: Introduction to Physical Therapy: Databases

This guide will help you locate sources for your final group project.

Using Research Databases

Use research databases to locate in-depth, scholarly articles focused on your subject or person of interest. Access to articles is provided through licensed databases on the library website. Databases contain scholarly content from academic journals, and depending on the database, may include citations to dissertations, books, book chapters, magazine articles, etc.

research database provides information about where and when the article was published and is searchable by keywords, subjects, and authors. Since articles tend to be much more specific in their coverage of a topic, your search can also be more specific.

Recommended Databases

Try using individual databases for more specialized searching. Some relevant databases for PHTA 100 include: 

  • MEDLINE with Full Text
    Full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE.
  • Health Reference Center Academic
    Indexing, abstracting, and some full-text of medical and health-related periodicals. Includes full-text of core medical reference books.
  • CINAHL
    Indexing and some full-text of nursing and allied health periodical literature. 
  • PEDro

PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database, a free database of over 41,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.

Remember, you can also use ROOsearch to search all of the library's databases simultaneously!