Skip to Main Content

Human Biology

WELCOME!

Key Databases for Articles

  • Academic OneFile - A multidisciplinary database with full-text articles, references from over 12,000 journal titles.
  • Academic Search Complete - Over 7,000 full text periodicals. Also contains indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 publications.
  • CINAHL - Indexing and some full-text of nursing and allied health periodical literature.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library - Takes research to the next level by delivering great reference print titles you rely on in a database format.
  • Google Scholar - Google Scholar is good for conducting simple searches across a broad number of databases. Within Google Scholar you may conduct searches by keyword, author and article title. There is also an advanced search with more options.
  • Health Reference Center Academic - Indexing, abstracting, and some full-text of medical and health-related periodicals. Includes full-text of core medical reference books.
  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition - Nearly 550 scholarly full text journals covering many medical disciplines. Also features the Lexi-PAL Guide, covering thousands of drug patient education sheets.
  • MEDLINE with Full Text - Full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE.
  • New England Journal of Medicine - Provides recent original research articles.
  • National Center for Biotechnology - Provides access to PubMed, PubMed Central, online biomedical textbooks and other literature.
  • National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism - Provides access to journal articles and studies.
  • Public Library of Science (PLoS) - Provides free access to scholarly, peer-reviewed full-text articles.
  • PubMed - PubMed® comprises more than 34 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
  • PubMed Central - PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
  • ScienceDirect - Full-text of journal articles in science, technology and medicine.

Websites

Human Biology Associations

  • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - Includes information on diseases, related data and statistics, and videos.
  • Human Biology Association - It is a vibrant nonprofit scientific organization dedicated to supporting and disseminating innovative research and teaching on human biological variation in evolutionary, social, historical, and environment; context worldwide.
  • The Society for the Study of Human Biology (SSHB) - Dedicated to the pursuit of knowledge and promotion of research in human biology, providing support for academics and professionals.