Game Design: Home

• Roo Search

  Click here to jump to the library homepage to search RooSearch -- our discovery service that simultaneously searches almost *all* of the library resources at once!

• WorldCat

  Searches thousands of libraries - and links to Interlibrary Loan.

Citing your sources: Guides and Reference

APA Citation Resources

• APA 7th General Reference
• Purdue Owl APA 7th General Format
• APA Style Reference Example

MLA Citation Resources

• Purdue Owl MLA
• Purdue Owl MLA Examples

• Academic OneFile - A multidisciplinary database with full-text articles, references from over 12,000 journal titles.
• Academic Search Complete - Over 7,000 full text periodicals. Also contains indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 publications.
• Business Source Complete - Indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included.
• EBSCO databases - Full-text of periodicals on a wide range of topics.
• Google Scholar - Google Scholar is good for conducting simple searches across a broad number of databases. Within Google Scholar you may conduct searches by keyword, author and article title. There is also an advanced search with more options.
• JSTOR - Full-text of approximately 250 journals, generally covering the years up to 2000. Also focuses on law, business and education.
• SocINDEX with Full-Text - The world's most comprehensive sociology research database, with extensive coverage of scholarly journals.

• ACM Interactions - magazine
• Board Game Designers Forum - Online forum with an emphasis on board game design.
• Board Game Geek - BoardGameGeek is an online forum for board gaming hobbyists and includes reviews, images, and videos.
• Digital Archive at Video Game History Foundation Library - The VGHF Digital Archive is a portal for digitally preserved content. You can directly access the digital collections and search through the full text of documents, magazines, transcripts, and more. This library is a permanent work in progress. 
• Game Developer - Website that looks at both the creative and business side of games.
• Game Developers Conference (GDC) Vault - GDC Vault is a trove of in-depth design, technical and inspirational talks and slides from influencers of the game development industry, taken from over 20 years of the worldwide Game Developers Conferences.
• Games Industry International - Website and community for news and information about the global video games industry.
• Giant Bomb - Video game magazine with reviews, forums, podcasts, and news updates.
• Polygon - Online gaming magazine with news, reviews, videos, and more.
• Rock Paper Shotgun - Magazine covering all things games including an extensive list of reviews, news, and guides.
• Unity Learn - From free tutorials to in-person training, Unity has a wide range of resources for creators at every stage of learning.

• Digital Media Association (DiMA) - Founded in 1998, DiMA is the leading organization advocating for the digital music innovations that have revolutionized the way music fans and artists connect.
• DiGRA - Founded in 2003, DiGRA is the premiere international association for academics and professionals who research digital games and associated phenomena. 
• Immersive Media Entertainment, Research, Science, & Arts (IMERSA) - IMERSA fosters the growing interest in digital fulldome cinema, immersive entertainment, performance art and virtual experiences through its Summits and activities.
• International Design and Media Arts Association (iDMa) - Founded in early 2004 by a group of 15 universities, iDMAa is dedicated to serving educators, practitioners, scholars, and organizations with interests in digital media.
• International Game Developers Association (IGDA) - The IGDA advances the careers and enhance the lives of game developers by connecting members with their peers, promoting professional development, and advocating for the interests of game developers worldwide.
• Society of Animation Studies - The Society for Animation Studies (SAS) is an international organization dedicated to the study of animation history and theory. It was founded by Dr. Harvey Deneroff in 1987. Each year, the SAS holds an annual conference at locations throughout the world, where members present their recent research.
• User Experience Professionals Association (UXPA) - International supports people who research, design, and evaluate the user experience (UX) of products and services.
• Visual Effects Society (VES) - The Visual Effects Society (VES) is a global professional honorary society and the entertainment industry’s only organization representing the full breadth of visual effects practitioners. VES’ more than 4,400 members in 45 countries worldwide contribute to all areas of entertainment – film, television, commercials, animation, special venue, games and new media.

• Game Developer  - Job outlook and growth in the U.S.
• Special Effects Artists and Animators - Bureau of Labor Statistics
• SUNY Canton - Game Design & Development, B.S.
• Video Game Designer  - Career Outlook
• Web Developers and Digital Designers - Bureau of Labor Statistics