Southworth Library Learning Commons connects you with many resources you can use on your computer or with your mobile device!
SLEUTH: Online Catalog: Search Southworth Library's collection of both print and electronic books on your mobile device. You can view the eBooks directly on your tablet, phone, or laptop. The SLEUTH catalog offers two eBook formats: ebrary and EBL_PDA EBooks (for more information, view the separate tabs for ebrary and EBL_PDA EBook above).
OverDrive Ebook Collection: Using your SUNY Canton username and password, browse through the assortment of books that are available to be checked out and downloaded to your eReader. OverDrive contains popular fiction, nonfiction, language books, and even pieces of classic literature.
EBSCO eBook Collection: With EBSCO's extensive collection of eBook titles on EBSCOhost, users can search within a wide range of relevant eBooks using the powerful EBSCOhost search experience. With every search, relevant eBook titles will appear directly alongside databases and other digital content, exposing users to the full depth of the library's offerings. (For more information, view the EBSCO eBook tab above.)
Gale Virtual Reference Library: Delivers great reference print titles you rely on in database form. Can download eReference texts as a PDF to your tablet.
SAGE Knowledge: This database is a social science eBook platform with an expansive range of SAGE eReference content. Southworth Library subscribes to SAGE's encyclopedias and handbooks. eReference works cannot be downloaded to eReaders (but they would take up a great deal of space on your tablet anyway!!).
Every resource is compatible with iPads, iPhones, Kindles, Nooks, and laptops. Resources can be used both on and off campus.
Since iPads are our forte here at Southworth Library, please look through the following information for some helpful hints:
To use on the iPad:
OpenLibrary: Search and read in browser. Download PDF, ePub, or HTML versions. Read PDF or HTML in browser, read ePub with Bluefire Reader. Can also use the "Send to Kindle" option with the free Kindle app.
OverDrive eBooks (print, not audio) from local pubic libraries: Download and read with the free Overdrive app, or read in browser if the book is in OverDrive Read format. Can also use the "Send to Kindle" option with the free Kindle app. (Remember: you will need a library card from that library!)
Each eBook vendor specifies whether or not there is download capability for the vendor's eBooks. Below are some informational links for particular vendors:
If you'd like Southworth Library Learning Commons to consider subscribing to another database or eresource, consider sending us your recommendation using the Purchse (Acquisition) Request Form located on the Faculty Services LibGuide.