Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- African American Heritage: Hosted by the National Parks Service, this site allows you to visit museum exhibits and read indepth histories of famous African Americans. Be sure to click "visit a multitude of park sites" to visit the individual pages of parks related to African American history like the Selma to Montgomery National Historic Trail and the Martin Luther King, Jr. National Historic Site.
- Black Women Oral History Project: Includes the recordings and transcripts of the Black Women Oral History Project, 1976-1981.
- Born in Slavery: Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936 to 1938: This collection features more than 2300 firsthand accounts of slavery as well as 500 photographs of former slaves.
- Civil Rights History Project: A collection of oral histories of participants in the struggle for civil rights. The site also includes a collection of essays related to the subjects of the oral history interviews.
- Digital Schomberg: A collection of links curated by the Schomberg Center for Research in Black Culture. Includes links to journals, books, maps, images, etc. (all free and open source).
- National Museum of African American History & Culture: Explore the collection of the National Museum of African American History & Culture, which includes historical artifacts, documents, photography, and media.
Image credit: Carl Van Vechten [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons