Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using Research Databases
Use research databases to locate in-depth, scholarly articles focused on your subject or person of interest. Access to articles is provided through licensed databases on the library website. Databases contain scholarly content from academic journals, and depending on the database, may include citations to dissertations, books, book chapters, magazine articles, etc.
A research database provides information about where and when the article was published and is searchable by keywords, subjects, and authors. Since articles tend to be much more specific in their coverage of a topic, your search can also be more specific.
Try using individual databases for more specialized searching. Some relevant databases for HIST 309 include:
- Britannica Online: A database containing videos, interactive timelines, statistics on every nation in the world, country comparisons, world atlases, notable quotations and a gateway to the classic books. Use this database for background information and locating primary sources.
- HarpWeek: Full-text, full-image version of Harpers Weekly, covering the Civil War period, 1857-1865. Use this database to locate primary sources related to the Civil War era.
- JSTOR: Full-text of approximately 250 journals, generally covering the years up to 2000. Also focuses on law, business and education. Use this database to locate scholarly journal articles (secondary sources).
Remember, you can also use ROOsearch to search all of the library's databases simultaneously!