Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Articles - what are they?
- An article is a written piece from a publication such as a journal, magazine or newspaper.
- Faculty expect edited pieces from a valid publisher; information on the web from companies or individuals and wikipedia are usually unacceptable
- Faculty may require articles of a particular type, i.e. newspaper, popular magazine, or scholarly journal.
- Access to articles is provided through licensed databases on the library website. These databases collect articles from many publications.
- Some of the most useful of these databases for your discipline are listed to the right. Others are found in our A-Z database list.
Searching for articles
Search individual databases. Most relevant for this subject are:
A definitive online resource for education research.
Educational Resource Information Center, contains more than 1,194,000 records and links to more than 100,000 full-text documents.
Full-text of approximately 250 journals, generally covering the years up to 2000. Also focuses on law, business and education.
Professional Development Collection
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of high quality education journals and reports.
Articles - How to Search for Them
1. Try a title or keyword search on your topic.
2. Look for useful "subject" or "descriptor" words. These will either be in a list on the results page, or you may need to look at a number of individual records.
3. Go back to the search screen and search BY SUBJECT/DESCRIPTOR (not by title/keyword) using the words you discovered in step 2.
4. Be sure to take advantage of:
- Boolean connectors (AND, OR, NOT)
- Truncation/Wildcard (educat*)
- Phrase searching ("childhood obesity")
5. When you find an item you want, use ArticleLinker to get it.
Browse for periodicals
Browse online journals HERE