Civil and Construction Engineering

• Roo Search

  Click here to jump to the library homepage to search RooSearch -- our discovery service that simultaneously searches almost *all* of the library resources at once!

• WorldCat

  Searches thousands of libraries - and links to Interlibrary Loan.

• Academic OneFile- A multidisciplinary database with full-text articles, references from over 12,000 journal titles.
• Academic Search Complete - Over 7,000 full text periodicals. Also contains indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 publications.
• Business Source Complete - This is IIT's largest business-subject database. It provides full-text coverage of more than 2,200 scholarly business, management and economics journals. More than 10,150 substantial company profiles from MarketLine are also included, as well as case studies, SWOT analyses, Market research reports.
• EBSCO databases - Full-text of periodicals on a wide range of topics.
• Google Scholar - Google Scholar is good for conducting simple searches across a broad number of databases. Within Google Scholar you may conduct searches by keyword, author and article title. There is also an advanced search with more options.
• GreenFILE - Content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
• Civil Engineering Open Access Journals
• Construction and Building Materials Open Access Journal
• Construction Engineering Commons
• IEEE Access - Open Access Journal
• ScienceDirect - Full-text of journal articles in science, technology and medicine.

• Engineering References - this website provides a categorized listing of engineering resources.
• National Technical Reports Library (NTIS) - This resource facilitates access to the latest U.S. government-sponsored research worldwide scientific, technical, engineering, and business-related information.
• Engineer's Edge - Engineering Technology Tools and Data
• The Engineer's Reference - it is an online mechanical engineering resource for both students and professionals engineers including tutorials and much more!
• The Engineering Toolbox - Free tools and information for engineering and design of technical applications.
• eFunda - The ultimate online reference for the mechanical and engineering community.
• Fundamentals of Heat Exchanger Design - The objective of this book is to provide in-depth thermal and hydraulic design theory.
• Global Engineering & Technology  
• Knovel - Engineering technical reference information.
• Library of Congress - Selected Internet Engineering resources.
• ThomasNet - Online version of the Thomas Register of American Manufacturers. In addition to information on hundreds of B2B industrial suppliers and manufacturers, it includes specifications or links to the specifications of industrial and laboratory equipment.
• UpCodes - provides a free platform to access building codes for all 50 states as well as the international codes. The free version allows access to all codes. Searching and advanced functionality is limited to an individual paid subscription.
• USACE - U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - This database is the official repository for official U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) Engineering Regulations (ERs), Engineering Circulars (ECs), Engineering Manuals (EMs) and other official public documents originating from Headquarters USACE.

• American Institute of Constructors - This site has information on certification in construction management. The site also offers articles of interest to construction managers.
• American Institute of Steel Construction - This site has information on certification in steel construction. It also has a ePub and free ePub collection of technical information. Some is available to members and some is available to anyone.
• Construction Project Management Handbook - Designed for public transit projects, the handbook goes through the process of managing such a project from initial conception through completion.
• Sustainable Sources - This site gives information on many types of sustainable/green building practices.

• Registry of Research Data Repositories - Includes 233 engineering-related data repositories across 36 countries, ranging from higher education institutions to government entities.
• Technical Report Archive and Image Library (TRAIL) - Full-text access to technical reports from federally funded research including the reports from the National Technical Information Service (NTIS).

• ASME - American Society of Mechanical Engineers
• ANSI - The Society for Standards Professionals
• ASCE - American Society of Civil Engineers
• ASME - American Society of Mechanical Engineers
• ASTM - American Society for Testing and Materials
• SAE - Society of Automotive Engineers
• IEEE - Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers

International Standards are developed by governmental or treaty organizations, non-governmental organizations, and organizations that are either specialized in standardization or involved in other activities. In general, an international standard is voluntary and has no legal status unless a regulatory authority requires conformance to that standard. Adopted by the country standards might be included in national rules and regulations.

• ASTM International - ASTM International develops and publishes voluntary consensus technical standards for a wide range  of materials, products, systems, and services.
• International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) - The IEC prepares and publishes international standards for electrical, electronic, and related technologies.
• International Organizations for Standardization (ISO) - The ISO supports a wide-range of standardization work on everything from screw threads to ship building.
• International Telecommunication Union (ITU) - ITU's scope of standardization is global telecommunications. ITU's standards document, Recommendation, can be downloaded for FREE on the ITU website.

• American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) - It represents more than 150,000 members of the civil engineering profession in 177 countries. Founded in 1852, ASCE is the nation's oldest engineering society.
• American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) - it promotes the art, science and practice of multidisciplinary engineering and allied sciences around the globe.
• Construction Management Association of America - This site offers information in certification in Construction Management, professional development opportunities, and conferences.
• Engineering Societies & Organizations - Library of Congress
• National Society of Professional Engineers (NSPE) - It was established in 1934 to realize a simple but vital goal: create an inclusive, nontechnical organization dedicated to the interests of licensed professional engineers, regardless of practice area, that would protect engineers (and the public) from unqualified practitioners, build public recognition for the profession, and stand against unethical practices and inadequate compensation.

• Civil Engineers - Bureau of Labour Statistics
• Construction and Extraction Occupations - Bureau of Labor Statistics
• SUNY Canton Civil Engineering Technology, A.A.S. 
• Suny Canton Construction Technology: Management, A.A.S.