Skip to main content

SUNY Canton College Archives: Visiting the Archives

Location and Hours

The SUNY Canton College Archives is located in the basement of Southworth Library Learning Commons.

Access is by appointment only. Please call 315-386-7057 or email santoser@canton.edu.

Policies

  • Personal belongings (i.e., books, papers, folders, pens, newspaper, bags, briefcases, computer cases, coats, and umbrellas) cannot be brought into the research room. Use of a laptop computer is permitted.
  • Food and beverages are not permitted while archival material is in the room.
  • Researchers do not have access to the Archives Repository.
  • Archival material is highly fragile and vulnerable to improper handling. To minimize any damage, original documents must remain on the desk and separate from researcher’s notes. Documents must not be marked, rearranged, removed from their covers, or taken out of the research room. Please return files to their proper sequence in each box and make sure not to mix records from different boxes because it is vital that records remain in their proper boxes. In addition, leaving numerous files spread out on the tables is not permitted.
  • Use pencils and note pads only. Ink, marker pens, and post-it-notes may not be used as they can damage the records.
  • Archival materials may not leave the library building.  Materials may be loaned to other offices on campus with prior approval arranged by the Archivist and after necessity has been evaluated.  Each archival item will be inventoried and each item must be signed in and out by both the individual borrowing the item as well as the Archivist. 
Please fill out the following Researchers Registration Form. Completion of the form is required before utilizing the Archives. By filling out the Researchers Registration Form, I have read and agree to abide by the rules for using archival materials. I am aware that infringement of the rules may result in my being excluded from using the Archives. I shall acknowledge the use of the SUNY Canton Archives in any publication which may result from my research through correct citation of sources. I shall provide the SUNY Canton Archives with a copy, free of charge, of any publication resulting from my use of the Archives. I shall obtain the permission of copyright owners where required by law, if I wish to make further reproductions of documents.

Copyright

The researcher shall acknowledge the use of the SUNY Canton College Archives in any publication which may result from their research through correct citation of sources. The researcher shall provide the SUNY Canton College Archives with a copy, free of charge, of any publication resulting from use of the Archives.

The researcher shall obtain the permission of copyright owners where required by law, if they wish to make further reproductions of documents.