Skip to main content

SUNY Canton College Archives: Finding Aids

Available Collections

The following collections are an example of records preserved in the College Archives.  Work is being done to process and make available more collections on a continuous basis.  If you have any questions about records in the College Archives, please email santoser@canton.edu.

Institutional Records

2014.1 – Library

2014.2 – Institutional History 

2014.3 – Office of the President

2014.4 – Presidential papers 

2014.5 – Pi Nu Epsilon records 

2014.6 – James M. Payson papers 

2015.1 – Faculty Assembly Audio Materials (Cassette Tapes), 1993-2006

2015.2 – Miscellaneous Cassette Tapes, 1984-1997 and undated

2015.3 – Ceremonies and Events

2015.4 – Public Relations 

2015.5 – College Council 

2015.6 – Miscellaneous Councils

2015.7 – Student Publications

2015.8 – Admissions

2015.9 – Student Activities

2016.1 -- Academic Catalogs

2016.2 -- Student Newspapers

2016.3 -- College Foundation

2016.4 -- Middle States Reports

2016.5 -- Administrative Affairs

2016.6 -- Campus Master Plans and Reports

2016.7 -- Nursing Scrapbooks

2016.8 -- AXO Scrapbooks

2016.9 -- Dana Scrapbooks

2016.10 -- SUNY Canton College Archives Subject Files

2016.11 -- Mary Bucher Papers

2016.12 -- Middle States Accreditation Review - Historical Information

2016.13 -- Living History Cassette Tapes, 1975-1982 and undated

2016.14 -- Reel to Reel Tapes

2016.15 -- Faculty Materials

2016.16 -- Digitized Materials (CDs and DVDs)

2016.17 -- VHS Tapes

2016.18 -- CTC Women papers

2016.19 -- SUNY Canton Yearbooks (Reserve and Overflow Collections)

2017.01 -- Miscellaneous Scrapbooks

2017.02 -- Grants Records

2017.03 -- Greek Life

2017.04 -- Academic Programs

2017.05 -- Educational Opportunity Program

2017.06 -- Unions

Photograph Collections

PC 2014.1 [Includes photographs of most activities on campus - continuously added to]

PC 2015.1 [Slides]

PC 2015.2 Construction Photograph Scrapbooks

Ephemera Collections

ME 2016.01 -- Material Items and Clothing

ME 2017.01 -- Framed Documents, Plaques, and Portraits

 

Finding Aids

Prior to 2014, the SUNY Canton College Archives experienced limited arrangement and processing of collections.  Materials were gathered into loose records groups with limited collection-level description, no series-level description, and rare folder-level description.  The current College Archivist is working diligently to process and arrange this large backlog of unprocessed collections.  Please visit the following links to view the finding aids for our photograph collections, as well as those of institutional significance.  

Please Note: Most of the following finding aids are a work in progress. The finding aids are housed on a Google Drive site because they are constantly being revised, updated, and completed as more records are added to collections, and as additional collections are created.  While rudimentary, this method provides quick and effective discovery of College Archives materials.

To search within a specific finding aid, please hold down Ctrl + F.  This will provide you with the Find Tool in the top right corner.