Skip to main content

SUNY Canton College Archives: Home

About the College Archives

The College Archives was established in 1973 in the Merritt-Wright Room in Southworth Library at the State University of New York at Canton to collect, arrange, house, and provide access to the materials of unique significance for this college.  The College Archives is now considered closed stacks, and is located in the basement of Southworth Library Learning Commons.  

The College Archives is responsible for the collection, preservation, and housing of the papers, records, photographs, oral records, and other materials of permanent value generated by the college, students, and personnel for the use and research of the campus and the community.

SUNY Policy for Archival and Historical RecordsIn order to preserve records of historical and archival value, certain categories of records are to be retained permanently. Among these are Presidents’ annual reports, minutes of campus councils, governance organization minutes or handbooks, inaugural or commencement records and important documents generated by or for the campuses such as strategic plans, accreditation reports, etc. Campuses should adhere carefully to the schedules for such records, retain them in a safe place and ensure their preservation when they are no longer needed on a daily basis.

Archival Collections Policy - What Do We Collect?

The College Archives shall consist of material relevant to the history and daily operations of SUNY Canton, including records required for retention, or other material as assigned by the President or Provost including, but not limited to the following:

  • Correspondence
  • Reports
  • Publications
  • Announcements/Events
  • Photographs
  • Audio-visual recording of events
  • Other material related to particular subjects, projects, or correspondence
  • Meeting Minutes (i.e. College Council, President's Council, Faculty Assembly, Committees)
  • Publications by administrative units, academic departments and student organizations, to include, but not limited to:
    • College catalogs
    • Programs from Commencement, Honors Convocation, Employee Recognition Day, and others
    • Histories of the College
    • Internal College publications
    • Newsletters and newspapers
    • Leaflets, brochures, and booklets
    • Posters
    • Press releases and other promotional materials
  • Publications by College faculty and staff which relate to professional or educational activities
  • Student scholarly publications

‚ÄčMaterials placed in the Archives will preferably be in original form, but may also be in duplicate or electronic form if this alternate form represents the best quality rendition that exists in the College’s possession. Only two copies of documents will be retained.

What is not collected?

Items that are of immediate value or that have transitory usefulness should not be sent. These records should be destroyed once their period of immediate usefulness has passed. Some examples of non records are:

  • Routine correspondence (e.g., emails confirming meeting times)
  • Duplicates
  • Envelopes
  • Routing Slips or other banking information
  • Raw data entry (summary reports are acceptable)
  • Rough Drafts
  • Blank Forms
  • Unofficial copies of administrative records
  • Records not produced by your unit (department, office...)
  • Information that might include social security numbers

For documents relating to the Registrar, Admissions, Financial Aid, and other offices that deal with student accounts and student records, please contact the office for Document Retention under Administrative Services.

Please visit SUNY's Records Retention and Disposition Policies website for more information. 

Archival Donations Policy

The Archives welcomes donations from all potential donors.

The Archivist retains the right to refuse certain gifts for any of the following reasons: duplication, lack of space, inability to technically or financially care for an item or inappropriateness to the collection.

The College will be considered sole owner of any material in the Archives Collection and will share all materials, with appropriate regulations, with the College community.

The Archivist reserves the right to dispose of any materials in accordance with accepted archival and professional standards.

If you would like to donate records to the College Archives, please view our Deed of Gift form below.

Additional Policies

Materials from the Archives may be loaned to other offices on campus with prior approval arranged by the Archivist. We will ask you to complete a Researchers Registration Form if you intend to examine the materials.

Persons or groups originating pertinent records will be responsible for depositing them in the archives. 

The Archivist is responsible for facilitating the use of material through an appropriate system of organization and description.

Appropriate State and Federal laws and regulations governing access to archival material will be followed.

The College Archives is housed in Southworth Library Learning Commons.

The College Archivist is appointed by the President.

Those individuals who wish to use the Archives for research purposes should contact the College Archivist to schedule an appointment for the use of the facility and materials.

The College Archivist is willing to do archival research for individuals and for groups.

College Archivist

Location and Hours

The SUNY Canton College Archives is located in the basement of Southworth Library Learning Commons.

Access is by appointment only. Please call 315-386-7057 or email santoser@canton.edu.

College Archives