Skip to main content

Southworth Library Learning Commons Users' Guide: Resources for Online Students

Welcome!

We understand that online learners have slightly different needs than on-campus students. Although online learners may not be able to physically be present on-campus in order to access the resources at Southworth Library Learning Commons in person, you can still access MANY of our resources at a distance, which include:

  • Books and E-Books
  • Access to a variety of databases
  • Thousands of articles on different subjects
  • Help from a librarian around the clock

Online Students

Resources & Services for Online Students

Even if you do not come to the main campus of SUNY Canton, you may still use the Library's services. A login page will usually appear when 1st using a research database. This will be your username and password issued by SUNY Canton. From the Library's website at www.canton.edu/library you can:

Get eBooks

  • Did you know SLLC has access to over 150,000 eBooks?  Just use Roogle to search your subject, look for the 'eBook' symbol next to a result, and access the full-text of the book from your computer or device.
  • To limit your search to just eBooks, select 'eBooks' from the "Source Types" filter on the left.

Get Articles

  • Use any of the databases to find either full-text or a description of an article in journal, magazine or newspaper.
  • Check out our Research Guides for your specific curricular area, or browse the A to Z list of Databases or the Databases by Subject guides.
  • If we don't have access to the article, make an ILL request and have the article delivered electronically to your inbox!
  • Make an InterLibrary Loan (ILL) request using the ILL link on the Library's website or within the database you are using. We will take care of the rest.

Get Help

  • Use the  link to contact a librarian from anywhere in the U.S. for help with a research question, or use the chat utility on the library homepage or within the research guides to chat live with a SUNY Canton librarian.
  • Call the SUNY Canton Library at (315) 386-7228.
  • Text your question to:  (315) 254-2770
  • Submit your question to our LibAnswers system, and a librarian will answer you the next time he/she logs in to the system.
  • Contact the Office of Online Learning (315) 386-3878 or visit their website http://www.canton.edu/ol.