Below is a list of databases (including a few websites) that contain information specific to the study of veterinary medicine. Many evidence-based practice articles, as well as scientific studies, reviews, and news stories. A combination of multiple source types will help you build engaging research projects.
Your professors recommend the following databases for your fundamental Vet Tech. courses at SUNY Canton.
- United States Department of Agriculture: The USDA is an agency of the U.S. federal government and will provide you with credible sources about veterinary medicine, especially concerning the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, the Animal Welfare Act, and the conservation of wildlife.
- New York State Department of Agriculture and Markets: This website promotes New York agriculture and its high-quality and diverse products, fosters agricultural environmental stewardship, and safeguards the State’s food supply, land and livestock to ensure the viability and growth of New York’s agriculture industries.
- Merck Veterinary Manual: The Merck Manual is a manual that covers the fundamentals of veterinary medicine. Use it to discover more about animal species and diseases as well as current news and commentary related to veterinary science.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center: Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. This is a great database to use when doing research for controversial topic or debate projects.
- Veterinary Education in Video: Gives faculty and students anytime, anywhere access to an encyclopedic resource on veterinary science and care. The collection explains more than 500 procedures and techniques across more than 600 titles, and covers clinical skills, explanations of conditions, and training on technology and animal handling. Because it’s delivered in high-quality streaming video, the collection provides insight into animal reactions and other subtleties that are often lost in text-only approaches.
Your professors also recommend the following databases for your more advanced Vet Tech. courses at SUNY Canton. These databases are freely available on the web. You may search for articles; however, some articles may not be available for download. In that case, we recommend you make an Interlibrary Loan request. For help, follow this link to the page about Interlibrary Loan. There are two tutorials that you can watch to learn how to submit a request. If you're having difficulties, please chat with a librarian using the virtual chat (LiveChat).
- Journal of Veterinary Medicine and Animal Health (JVMAH): This is a peer-reviewed journal, published freely on the web, that covers all areas of the subject such as the application of medical, surgical, publish health, dental, diagnostic, and therapeutic principles to non-human animals.
- Veterinary Medicine and Animal Sciences: This journal publishes articles on epidemiology, prevention, diagnosis and treatment of medical conditions covering all domestic, wild, avian, and aquatic species. The journal covers all disciplines of life sciences engaged in the field of Animal and Veterinary sciences.
